{Decorate with stencils}

28 Mar

Can you believe these are wall stencils? I love interior wall patterns but haven’t been able to try it out yet. Perhaps I can experiment and wall stencil a little part of our apartment first. Royal Design Studios have a great How-To on basic stenciling techniques.

8 Responses to “{Decorate with stencils}”

  1. travelkate @ travelmoon March 29, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    I’m always so amazed to see how good these stencils look, but I am afraid to use them myself-I think it would end up looking like a mess!

    I stumbled across your blog and saw your video link to Style Me Pretty of your wedding…it is so adorable! I love Pelican Hill in Newport Beach-went to dinner there to celebrate my sister-in-law’s birthday and it was divine!

    • Angel Li March 29, 2011 at 6:08 am #

      Awww Isn’t Pelican Hill lovely?? I miss it. I use to go often because my younger sister plays golf there. Thanks for the compliment on our video! It was really fun to film.

  2. Hong Yi March 29, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    the link came in handy – i was going to start a project this week which requires stenciling!

    • Angel Li March 29, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      I’m glad the link was helpful. Good luck with stenciling!

  3. Karen Kearney March 29, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Beats Wallpaper!!!!!!

  4. Melanie Royals March 29, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Hi Angel, I’m so happy you found my stencils and really appreciate you posting about them! Stenciling is truly something that anyone can master…you just need to keep in mind that you want to use a dry (offloaded) brush or foam roller. Just practice on some scrap paper or posterboard and you will be surprised how easy it is to become a “master”. Then you will be free to start getting creative!! Best to you…..

    • Angel Li March 29, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

      Thanks Melanie for all the tips!

  5. Susan Sidun April 1, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I don’t knit, but I stencil. I imagine stenciling is like knitting: tedious, and love the end result. To minimize tedium, I like that these pics show ONE bold accent wall, stenciled. Throw in your radio or ipod, and enjoy the process! (Again, practice first, according to earlier post by Melanie Royal’s).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

